I don’t look back. I really don’t. I don’t want to think about what I did last Saturday because that doesn’t help me tonight. I only care about tonight, or today, man. That’s the whole deal… I can’t be worried about what’s already past. I’m gonna help the Yankees win tonight. I’m gonna hit it hard tonight. I just worry about a one-game streak, then a one-game streak, then a one-game streak, then a one-game streak. I don’t think about being hot for six or seven days. I just want to be hot tonight. It’s just the same old story for me. One bat after another. Take’em one at a time.

~ Don Mattingly

Note: This excerpt is from Smart Baseball: How Professionals Play the Mental Game

Leave a Reply

